Build error (.vis is not a composed file) [SOLVED]

  • #1, by smac96Tuesday, 14. March 2017, 17:43 3 years ago
    Hi,
    I have a huge problem with the build of my game.

    This is the first time I have this problem because until today everything always worked perfectly! I exported the game thousand of times in the past!!!

    I can build the game (the build successfully reaches 100% in Visionaire) but when I try to launch the game nothings happens. Instead of launching the game, a file called "stderr.txt" is created.

    This is the content of the "stderr.txt" file:

    17:34:55: Error: The file C:\Output\Game.vis is not a composed file.
    17:34:55: Error: Loading game from file 'Game.vis' failed!
    17:34:55: Error: Init failed, could not load game

    Anyone can help me?

    PS: My Visionaire version is 3.7 (Build 1147)
    PPS: If I do "File > Save and Run" it works without problems

    Newbie

    97 Posts


  • #2, by smac96Wednesday, 15. March 2017, 09:38 3 years ago
    I restored a backup (I create a backup every half day of work) and on the previous version the build works without problems. Ouff...

    Anyway... I'm curious to know what happened...

    Newbie

    97 Posts

  • #3, by afrlmeWednesday, 15. March 2017, 11:24 3 years ago
    I restored a backup (I create a backup every half day of work) and on the previous version the build works without problems. Ouff...

    Anyway... I'm curious to know what happened...
    Have you been adding / editing any way system borders for any scenes? It could be a stray way border polygon point. Hell it could be anything really... did you check the messages log file to see if it gave any specific errors that could shed a bit more light on the issue?

    Imperator

    6816 Posts

  • #4, by smac96Saturday, 25. March 2017, 10:45 3 years ago
    I restored a backup (I create a backup every half day of work) and on the previous version the build works without problems. Ouff...

    Anyway... I'm curious to know what happened...
    Have you been adding / editing any way system borders for any scenes? It could be a stray way border polygon point. Hell it could be anything really... did you check the messages log file to see if it gave any specific errors that could shed a bit more light on the issue?


    I found out that is something to do with the musical soundtrack of a single scene. Strange...

    Newbie

    97 Posts

  • #5, by afrlmeSaturday, 25. March 2017, 11:40 3 years ago
    Is it an mp3 file?

    Imperator

    6816 Posts

  • #6, by smac96Saturday, 25. March 2017, 12:43 3 years ago
    Is it an mp3 file?

    No, it's an .ogg file.

    The strange thing is that if I replace this audio file with another from another scene that works correctly it gives me the same build error.

    The messages log file gave me no specific errors about this issue.

    Newbie

    97 Posts

  • #7, by afrlmeSaturday, 25. March 2017, 13:37 3 years ago
    Strange. Try removing the audio file from the background music in the scenes properties tab & setting it with an action part inside of an at begin of scene action under scene actions.

    It works without the audio file?

    P.S: it could be way system related instead... check your way system borders & look for stray way points that aren't connected to any other points &/or look for borders that aren't closed off to make a circuit or overlap other border lines. Any of these things are bad & can cause the scene to crash the game.

    Imperator

    6816 Posts

  • #8, by smac96Monday, 27. March 2017, 01:11 3 years ago
    Strange. Try removing the audio file from the background music in the scenes properties tab & setting it with an action part inside of an at begin of scene action under scene actions.
    Did it, but same error.
    It works without the audio file?
    Yes, it works.
    P.S: it could be way system related instead... check your way system borders & look for stray way points that aren't connected to any other points &/or look for borders that aren't closed off to make a circuit or overlap other border lines. Any of these things are bad & can cause the scene to crash the game.

    All the scenes works fine. This error for example was on a menu scene.

    And now it's getting more and more absurd... 
    If I try to add a new audio file or a background image that was not already previously present in the game folder it seems impossible to build the game!!!
    For example: I create a new scene and I use files that are already in the game it's ok. But if I try to add new created file that was not on the game it's impossible to play the exported game! If I do "Save and Run" everything works great. Only when I build the game, the export doesn't give me any error but the game doesn't start at all and the error .txt file appears. 

    WHAT HAPPENED???
    I work since years on the game and nothing like this happened before!!! I don't want to loose my work!!!

    Newbie

    97 Posts

  • #9, by afrlmeMonday, 27. March 2017, 01:39 3 years ago
    Could you attach the messages.log file or post it here or on pastebin or somewhere so I can see what it says please? The issue is likely something you've added or changed recently. I assume you have backup files & haven't been using a single ved this whole time?

    Imperator

    6816 Posts

  • #10, by smac96Monday, 27. March 2017, 02:09 3 years ago
    The messages.log file is empty!

    By the way, I have thousands of backups of the ved file smile

    Now I just restored an old random ved file and this problem is not present. I can build the game and play it correctly.

    I should go backwards backup by backup and see at which point I have this problem. Unfortunately I have to remember what changes I made from one backup to the other.

    If there are no chance to see where's the problem, is there any way to compare 2 ved files and see the differences?

    Newbie

    97 Posts

  • #11, by afrlmeMonday, 27. March 2017, 03:11 3 years ago
    hmm... maybe you could open them up in something like sublime text & compare the xml data. I highly recommend creating copies of the ved files to open up with sublime text instead of the actual ved files as it's easy to accidentally edit/mess up the xml data.

    https://www.sublimetext.com

    http://stackoverflow.com/questions/25874018/comparing-the-co...

    Imperator

    6816 Posts

Write post