How to make "stop from the running" animation?

  • #1, by kytattooThursday, 14. July 2016, 09:38 4 years ago
    So here is the topic - what i need is when character is running (he always running, there is no "walk" animation) and when he stops i need "stop animation" be played (he stops and there are some clouds of dust) ... How can i do that? Thanks

    Newbie

    60 Posts


  • #2, by afrlmeThursday, 14. July 2016, 13:28 4 years ago
    Are you animating the stopping part or just having it snap back to the idle animation? You could add a smoke effect into the beginning of your idle animation frames & determine if those frames should play with an if condition = true or false if query & a line of Lua to force it skip those frames if the condition is not met. You would set the condition to true inside of the first frame of each of your running / walking animations, which will be used to tell the idle animation when the character stops whether to play x to y frames or y to z frames.

    Sorry if this sounds a bit confusing. Didn't get much sleep & I'm not thinking too clearly at the minute.

    Imperator

    6812 Posts

  • #3, by kytattooThursday, 14. July 2016, 13:34 4 years ago
    Yes, the stopping part... The way with lua script is too complicated, but i ll try , thanks ))

    Newbie

    60 Posts

  • #4, by afrlmeThursday, 14. July 2016, 13:52 4 years ago
    The only other way would be to create a called by other action block that listens out for character stop, then you would need to query the characters direction to be able to manually start the correct stop animation which you would have added to the character animations (eye icon) section of your characters animations tab.

    Any method you use will be a little complicated as you have to listen out for character stop & return the correct animation based on the current direction your character is facing on stop.

    Imperator

    6812 Posts

  • #5, by kytattooThursday, 14. July 2016, 13:57 4 years ago
    Thats easier way ) Thanks !

    Newbie

    60 Posts

  • #6, by kytattooSaturday, 16. July 2016, 17:34 4 years ago
    Tell me please - Is there any way to scale only one outfit for the main character? Thanks

    Newbie

    60 Posts

  • #7, by afrlmeSaturday, 16. July 2016, 17:50 4 years ago
    You can toggle automatic scaling off for a character with Lua script, which will in turn allow you to force the character scale manually; however, the scale will automatically reset each time a new animation is triggered.

    Another member asked for same thing for a mini-game section. I don't remember the exact details on what I did or if I provided the solution via the forum or privately as it was a while ago. You could try sending the person in question a message & see if they are willing to help you out - pretty sure that's who I helped out before.

    Imperator

    6812 Posts

  • #8, by kytattooSaturday, 16. July 2016, 20:06 4 years ago
    Thanks. Now i have another problem - i set 'save game' to the beginning of the scene, but no saved game appeared on the save games screen... Why?
    And how does autosave system work?

    Newbie

    60 Posts

  • #9, by kytattooSaturday, 16. July 2016, 20:17 4 years ago
    I tried to set a pause also - didnt help at all

    Newbie

    60 Posts

  • #10, by afrlmeSaturday, 16. July 2016, 20:19 4 years ago
    Autosave / Quicksave is the same as regular save except it doesn't generate a savegame thumbnail image. Also they have to be executed on a regular scene (scene that isn't defined as menu type).

    Quick note #1: autosave files have a different filename to regular saves & are called something along the lines of bookmark#.dat.

    Quick note #2: You shouldn't trigger execute autosave immediately inside of an at begin of scene action as sometimes it won't save any data. You should wait at least 500ms or however long the global scene fade in value is - you can check the value on the main game (cog icon) tab.

    Imperator

    6812 Posts

  • #11, by ukdesignerFriday, 05. August 2016, 00:43 4 years ago
    Is there anywhere we can make official feature requests such as this
    "Into Walk" / "Out of Walk" and similar for Run cycles in Visionaire Studio?

    It would be useful for many people, especially very animation heavy games. This would take design up that extra level, also above games such as Monkey Island (animation wise) since they don't even use start/stops.

    Whenever I see a Visionaire game, the one thing which slams handbreaks on from making these games look really, really pretty, is the way animations never work together... There just isn't the capabilities to transition between animations.(As far as I know I could be wrong)

    I would personally love to "go to town" with start and stop animations, and all it would really take in the engine generically, would be an extra animation set for these motions. I will be purchasing a full license if my project gets moving, and Visionaire can provide enough features, and so far it does the majority of things I need for my game.

    Into/Out of walk/run cycles is useful for 2d Animated characters, but I feel it's compulsory for 3d characters if they are too look polished.

    Thanks smile

    Newbie

    2 Posts

Write post