walking glitch

  • #1, by doroboTuesday, 25. April 2017, 09:35 3 years ago
    Ok i have this type of situation. When i spam left click character at certain places maybe just for a frame uses the wrong direction image or trying to turn more likely. This results in this jerky walk at certain places. I get this in similar situation in other scene too where there is T shaped wayborder. Maybe Visionaire trying to calculate more direct route first causes this?  My scaling points are inside wayborder could this be the reason?

    Newbie

    46 Posts


  • #2, by afrlmeTuesday, 25. April 2017, 11:36 3 years ago
    It's possible because when they are inside of way border at different x,y positions it is probably trying to calculate scale based on x too. Or maybe it's just the weird shape or way you've created the paths that are confusing the engine.

    Imperator

    6842 Posts

  • #3, by doroboTuesday, 25. April 2017, 13:07 3 years ago
    Ty. That's the answer i was afraid of.. Was hoping it was something that occcured previously. I'll try scaling thing but i tend to think it's that wayboarder not being a blob and visionaire slipping there for a bit. 

    Newbie

    46 Posts

  • #4, by afrlmeTuesday, 25. April 2017, 15:19 3 years ago
    Are you using VS5? or still on 4.2.5? In VS5 if you open up the developer console with TAB it will show you the way border for your scene as well as the developer console. It also shows you the destination of character when you click somewhere inside of the way border, but if you click outside of way border it shows you the calculated path instead - maybe you could use that to get a better understanding of what your scene is doing. wink

    https://i.gyazo.com/fed556acfca2ac31c542a22c806091bb.jpg

    You can see the calculation being made in the red thing - I clicked outside of the way border. If you click inside it just creates a little square but doesn't show calculated path line thing.

    P.S: if you aren't using VS5 & do decide to install it & have a go, then don't forget to create a duplicate copy of your actual ved & use the copy instead as you'll no longer be able to use the ved you open/save in VS5 for VS4 again. So, yeah... always make sure you create backup copies!

    Imperator

    6842 Posts

  • #5, by doroboTuesday, 25. April 2017, 20:17 3 years ago
    5. I messed up earlier version anyways smile so no point in backing up. Tried developer console with no new revelations. Removing scaling from points changed nothing. But when making wayboarder wide open even without changing waypoints i get no glitching. So it's probably narrow and unusual wayboarder shape. Tried widening but keeping the bend and it didn't change anything. Something with obstacle calculation. I also managed to stuck character in one place somehow smile I hope Simons will make this go away cause i have even more complicated stuff in mind. Could be as simple as changing a line of code but who knows im definetly not a programmer.

    Newbie

    46 Posts

  • #6, by afrlmeTuesday, 25. April 2017, 20:55 3 years ago
    Should still backup mate - at least to dropbox or an external hdd every day or few days. Better safe than sorry.

    Imperator

    6842 Posts

  • #7, by doroboTuesday, 25. April 2017, 22:02 3 years ago
    Should still backup mate - at least to dropbox or an external hdd every day or few days. Better safe than sorry.
    you don't remember but i was the one that did the saving in later version manouver wink

    but thanks for good advice anyways smile

    Newbie

    46 Posts

  • #8, by afrlmeTuesday, 25. April 2017, 22:07 3 years ago
    Should still backup mate - at least to dropbox or an external hdd every day or few days. Better safe than sorry.
    you don't remember but i was the one that did the saving in later version manouver wink
    Aye, I knew someone did, but didn't remember who specifically.

    Imperator

    6842 Posts

  • #9, by doroboSunday, 30. April 2017, 20:32 3 years ago
    Made a small demonstration. I even managed to recreate stucked behaviour although in this case it's on the corner of a border. Blinking square is a cursor and i keep spamming that.

    Newbie

    46 Posts

  • #10, by afrlmeSunday, 30. April 2017, 20:52 3 years ago
    Not really sure that's a glitch. It's aligning itself to the point you clicked, but correcting itself because it can't go that way due to the way borders / paths that you have created. Typically way area tends to be one large area rather than bizarre shape. Did it still glitch out if you pressed inside of the way border? - I didn't notice if you'd click inside of the way border at any point in the video.

    Imperator

    6842 Posts

  • #11, by doroboSunday, 30. April 2017, 21:55 3 years ago
    Not really sure that's a glitch. It's aligning itself to the point you clicked, but correcting itself because it can't go that way due to the way borders / paths that you have created. Typically way area tends to be one large area rather than bizarre shape. Did it still glitch out if you pressed inside of the way border? - I didn't notice if you'd click inside of the way border at any point in the video.
    Yes it's aligning but it should do that before showing that one frame sort of think ahead of time and just go around. It's nothing game breaking but it wouldn't fly with the regular QA as it keeps bugging me (: While it's not a typical shape i'm well within the rule set of Visionaire just being creative. Inside it's fine and even outside if the shape is rounded. Just showing the extreme case here. 

    edit: at the end there i click inside and it gets unstuck

    Newbie

    46 Posts

Write post