FIrst Person adventure

  • #10, by Simon_ASAMonday, 14. April 2014, 15:15 7 years ago
    The best is to start with the Zeppelin scene and update it with your own pics. Take your time to change all the settings so they fit your expectations (resolution, cursors, etc.)
    http://www.visionaire2d.net/downloads/Zeppelin_First_Person.zip
    That's what I did with my game Catyph, 1st person adventure too.
    For the text in such a game, use the action called Display Speaker Text (renamed to Narration Text in V4). You can display it anywhere on screen. Good luck!

    Great Poster

    321 Posts


  • #11, by SomeoneMonday, 14. April 2014, 16:43 7 years ago
    Uhh so the main problem was that when I was selecting the position of everything I clicked red closing button instead of "OK" because I didnt see the bottom of the window.

    Sorry guys grin

    Newbie

    11 Posts

  • #12, by afrlmeMonday, 14. April 2014, 16:53 7 years ago
    haha, no worries smile

    I believe the plan is to add scrollbars for certain sections of the editor in the RC release because certain sections are not accessible on smaller resolutions. For instance on my laptop screen I can't see all of the options inside of the "outfit properties" tab. Or like in the scene section I would have to drag up the actions (bottom half) section to be able to see all available options properly.

    Imperator

    6842 Posts

  • #13, by SomeoneMonday, 14. April 2014, 23:00 7 years ago
    I have another problem, When I execute command LOOK on object which shows narration text, I cant execute LOOK or anything else on anything else after that.

    Newbie

    11 Posts

  • #14, by SomeoneMonday, 14. April 2014, 23:04 7 years ago
    Well simply I cant use right mouse button after executing command on object

    Newbie

    11 Posts

  • #15, by afrlmeMonday, 14. April 2014, 23:37 7 years ago
    have you set the default command in the interface properties tab? if not then it doesn't reset correctly & can cause certain bugs.

    Imperator

    6842 Posts

  • #16, by SomeoneTuesday, 15. April 2014, 15:52 7 years ago
    Yeah, I just think Ill give up on this. I follow tutorials but something wont always work for some reason.

    Newbie

    11 Posts

  • #17, by SomeoneTuesday, 15. April 2014, 16:04 7 years ago
    And Its not possible to build a game with free version, so I cant show it to my friend?

    Newbie

    11 Posts

  • #18, by afrlmeTuesday, 15. April 2014, 17:59 7 years ago
    And Its not possible to build a game with free version, so I cant show it to my friend?


    no they would have to have vs installed & you would have to share your .ved & resource files for them to test it.

    Imperator

    6842 Posts

  • #19, by retinaSaturday, 22. August, 21:44 A month ago
    Hello, I'm new to this program, but I already know how to do the most important stuff. I would like to ask how to make a first person adventure in this software?

    I tried to create character with no clothes and then assing it to an object, but then all of my texts are aligned to the left upper corner, I tried everything to move them somewhere else but no luck.

    Then I tried to make an NPC, but Its again in the left upper corner always, wont move.

    So my question is how to setup first person character and how to align stuff where I want it.

    I added image with explanation, because my english is not really great.

    I would preffer to do this without scripts please. Thank you.
    Hey, I am also new to Visionaire and have a similar problem. I already tried everything in this Thread, but ist won't work. So I will describe my problem and add a Picture:

    I am working on a 1st-Person adventure, where I can interact with objects and have Dialogs with NPCs. So far so good. The problem I have is, that the dialog-Part of my 1st-Person character always appears in the Upper left corner (See Picture).
    I would prefer to Position it somewhere else, in the Upper middle of the screen for example.
    I didn't try the Narration Text to Position the 1st-Person Character Text, because I Need dialogs.

    What I already tried:
    - A transparent Outfit-Picture to position my 1st character (to get the text Positioned over this character-outfit). I also tried a non-transparent Picture, which didn't show up. Maybe Ehre ist still Something possible...
    - the script in this Thread didn't work. But maybe I did something wrong here too.

    What might be good to know:
    - I use Visionaire 5 Education.
    - I don't use the Way System, because of the 1st-Person Perspective.

    I am glad about any help.

    Retina

    Newbie

    4 Posts

  • #20, by esmeraldaSaturday, 22. August, 23:20 A month ago
    Welcome!

    A simple way to position texts is to use "display narration text". (found in the miscellaneous tab) This way you can position the text by giving the x and y coordinates.

    In a dialog (using the built in dialog system)  you can use the narration text by ticking the box for the alternative text, leaving the answer empty and writing your dialog in the dialog-action-window. (clicking on the little yellow arrow right on the "execute action" field.


    Nigec mentioned a while back a way to positon the text by using a dummy character. Not the transparent one, but I forgot what he said, sorry. (I don't make first person games) Maybe he is around in a bit...


    You can trap the invisible character in a tiny wayborder. Else it is moved to the upper left corner.

    Great Poster

    389 Posts

Write post