Default commands and cursors

  • #1, by JorkzFriday, 01. December 2017, 17:10 2 years ago
    So I choose to make a game with a Sam&Max cursor (left click for the command, and right to change / scroll cursors (default/arrow , take, examine, talk))

    The problem is when I'm using the cursor take, examine or talk... The soft interpreted these commands like a default command... Then for example when I left click with a talk cursor my current character is walking to the point.

    However I disable "Activate standard command" to "never" in he game properties.

    I wish default command with walking effect will be only actived for the cursor "arrow".

    Thanks.

    Newbie

    90 Posts


  • #2, by JorkzSunday, 03. December 2017, 07:50 2 years ago
    I now understand what is the point about the "activate standard command" and it has nothing to do with my initial problem. :/

    Cannot anyone help me ?

    Thanks.

    Newbie

    90 Posts

  • #3, by afrlmeSunday, 03. December 2017, 13:11 2 years ago
    Try something like this. Link the if current command action part to your walk command action part.

    https://i.gyazo.com/48b79c50b25e7273b1f08c898c063c3b.png

    What we are doing in the screenshot is checking if no item exists under the mouse cursor on click & then checking if the current command isn't walk & if it isn't we are cancelling out the character destination with the stop character action part.

    Imperator

    6772 Posts

  • #4, by JorkzSunday, 03. December 2017, 13:34 2 years ago
    Yeah thank you again !!
    It works a little bit... because when I'm clicking on an empty object (here, an empty object with a "false" conditon for starting the game at this place) The character even go to the point.

    Newbie

    90 Posts

  • #5, by JorkzSunday, 03. December 2017, 13:36 2 years ago
    ...and more, the current character is starting the walking animation while a little msecond.

    Newbie

    90 Posts

  • #6, by afrlmeSunday, 03. December 2017, 13:38 2 years ago
    Can you post a screenshot please. Only scene objects that you create object area (interaction polygons) for should be detected by the mouse cursor. Anything else except characters should return nil/empty.

    Imperator

    6772 Posts

  • #7, by JorkzSunday, 03. December 2017, 13:54 2 years ago
    test


    EDIT: there is a "error" windows" when I try to send my screenshot here

    Newbie

    90 Posts

  • #8, by afrlmeSunday, 03. December 2017, 14:09 2 years ago
    I recommend using something like gyazo for screenshots. https://gyazo.com/

    Imperator

    6772 Posts

  • #9, by JorkzSunday, 03. December 2017, 14:09 2 years ago

    Newbie

    90 Posts

  • #10, by JorkzSunday, 03. December 2017, 16:52 2 years ago
    Anyway it's the same issue with some "empty" items that are just drawn in the background picture ( only an action aera )...

    For example If I left click on the object with the command "take", the carracter is going to this point...

    Even with your settings.

    Newbie

    90 Posts

  • #11, by afrlmeSunday, 03. December 2017, 16:59 2 years ago
    You don't need to define an object area for everything, only for the things you want the player to interact with.

    Imperator

    6772 Posts

Write post