Complex way systems

  • #1, by JorkzMonday, 27. April, 07:22 A month ago
    Hello everyone!

    I've been working on a room that turns out to be quite complex for the basic system... With a first, second and third plan, where my character shrinks and expands in a complicated way. So I noticed that it was possible to solve this problem by creating several way systems and so I managed to change it from one to the other. However I don't know how to manage the transition between them... Indeed, if I use for example the principle of action areas, if the character stays in the area where the transition takes place... there are disturbances in his display, since the action area allows to give information when he leaves it or when he enters it ... The most desirable would have been a "toggle system" with conditions but it doesn't seem to exist for the action areas...

    Which method do you encourage to switch from one waypoint to another in a really fluid way ?
    Thanks.

    Newbie

    90 Posts


  • #2, by afrlmeMonday, 27. April, 14:13 A month ago
    The action areas are just for when a character walks into them or out of them. I'm not really understanding what you are trying to say/ask. Do you have any screenshots, videos, or references that might help us understand exactly what it is you are trying to achieve?

    Imperator

    6764 Posts

  • #3, by JorkzMonday, 27. April, 15:14 A month ago
    In fact, the character blocks himself when he wants to take stairs (located in the foreground, therefore the main area is in the background, which also has a depth effect that goes up on screen (so if I use a single way system, my character shrinks on stairs when logically it shouldn't).

    This blockage is probably cause  the action area I've created front of the stairs is only made to either enter or exit the stairs, but apparently not both at the same time.

    Moreover the method I set up is quite unstable since when I tell with the default cursor to go beyond the area (located in another action area) ... the character doesn't seem to recognize it ...

    I'd like to apply a condition to the action areas so as to set up a "toggle" but it seems impossible.

    Newbie

    90 Posts

  • #4, by MachtnixMonday, 27. April, 15:47 A month ago
    Do you have a picture? I have no idea, what's the problem.

    Usually the character can walk to every point in a way system without millions of points. He walks to the point you clicked, sometimes not on the shortest way. You need only some points at beginning, strange corners and ends. On every way point you can define the character's scale. Because it's only 2D the perspective is a fake. Creating a complicated way maze it's probably to have some "Escher" ways which aren't possible. I believe you have some "overlapping" areas?
    Action areas only works on way systems (logical). If the character enters some things happen.

    Key Killer

    995 Posts

  • #5, by JorkzMonday, 27. April, 16:25 A month ago
    As it's a bit embarrassing for me to show you a scene whose graphics are incomplete, and that I don't really want to reveal my game... here's a schematic of my scene.

    I hope you understand better wink

    Newbie

    90 Posts

  • #6, by MachtnixMonday, 27. April, 16:53 A month ago
    Hm... there isn't an overlapping. So I think you don't need two way systems. On the red one all points get the scale 100%, it looks like a 2D puppet house with a direct view from front (f.e. like "Goetia"), on the green one you have only two points: the lower one is 100% like red area, the upper one is 30% (or how strong the perspective must be) going into the "deep"getting smaller. Is this correct?

    Is there a connection between red and green? How can the character reach both?

    Sorry, my French will be useless... wink

    Key Killer

    995 Posts

  • #7, by JorkzMonday, 27. April, 17:19 A month ago
    are you  french ?

    Newbie

    90 Posts

  • #8, by JorkzMonday, 27. April, 17:30 A month ago
    In fact, the top of the stairs also contains a scale in the middle of it, at the same screen height as the green one which always "acts" on it. It's very annoying.

    Newbie

    90 Posts

  • #9, by JorkzMonday, 27. April, 20:30 A month ago
    In fact, I tell myself that the ideal for me would have been a kind of segment to be traced and that the character goes beyond it to change area.

    Newbie

    90 Posts

  • #10, by MachtnixTuesday, 28. April, 10:19 3 weeks ago
    You can use different scales on the same line. It depends on the way points. If you want another scalement on the left side you can set a point on the red stair, and on the green way another point with another scale. But you need a way gap (hole) or narrow passage  between them. On a big area the scale will change from left to right and up to down the same. Visionaire calculates automatically.

    May be you need some additional points to prevent (from?) the interaction.

    No, I'm not French. I only read your profile... smile I prefer German...

    Key Killer

    995 Posts

  • #11, by JorkzTuesday, 28. April, 17:18 3 weeks ago
    Okay! I finally figured it out... And it seems to be working more or less as it should, as I have MUCH difficulty creating waypoints. Indeed, as you have to press the middle button of the mouse to enlarge / reduce  the sceneo... and that the same button is useful to scroll the size of the character... I always act on waypoints !... I find the method very hard to handle...

    Newbie

    90 Posts

Write post