The dialogue system is broken!

  • #1, by BarneySunday, 18. May 2014, 00:08 6 years ago
    I've imported my project from Visionaire 3.7, where everything worked perfectly, and now I've noticed the weirdest thing. When you choose dialogue options during the conversation with one of the characters, only one of those options actually works: Choosing any of the others results in the game terminating itself without warning.

    Weirder still, the other character stopped responding to interaction whatsoever. The dialogue doesn't even start.

    Newbie

    42 Posts


  • #2, by BarneySunday, 18. May 2014, 11:21 6 years ago
    Update: Ok, I've figured out what was wrong with the second character whose dialogue didn't start (I've accidentally resetted a condition), but the first issue still persists.
    Hell, I've put another character in his place, created a new dialogue from scratch, and the game still crashes when you choose any of the dialogue options. This is frustrating...

    Another update. Remember I've told you one of the entrees in the original dialogue still worked? Apparently, that's because I've executed dialogue part action there instead of a regular answer.

    Newbie

    42 Posts

  • #3, by afrlmeSunday, 18. May 2014, 13:16 6 years ago
    Would you be willing to send me the .ved & resources, so that I can see what's happening?

    Are there any errors or information listed in the log files?

    Imperator

    6800 Posts

  • #4, by BarneySunday, 18. May 2014, 15:11 6 years ago
    I've created a blank new project and put a single conversation in there. The game still crashes. I can send it to you, though it's as basic as it gets.

    There's also this mess in the log window:

    17:01:04: 0(42) : warning C7011: implicit cast from "int" to "float"
    0(42) : warning C7011: implicit cast from "int" to "float"
    0(42) : warning C7011: implicit cast from "int" to "float"
    0(42) : warning C7011: implicit cast from "int" to "float"
    0(132) : warning C7011: implicit cast from "int" to "float"
    0(132) : warning C7011: implicit cast from "int" to "float"
    0(136) : warning C7011: implicit cast from "int" to "float"
    0(136) : warning C7011: implicit cast from "int" to "float"

    17:01:04: 0(42) : warning C7011: implicit cast from "int" to "float"
    0(42) : warning C7011: implicit cast from "int" to "float"
    0(42) : warning C7011: implicit cast from "int" to "float"
    0(42) : warning C7011: implicit cast from "int" to "float"
    0(132) : warning C7011: implicit cast from "int" to "float"
    0(132) : warning C7011: implicit cast from "int" to "float"
    0(136) : warning C7011: implicit cast from "int" to "float"
    0(136) : warning C7011: implicit cast from "int" to "float"

    17:01:04: Fragment info
    -------------
    0(42) : warning C7011: implicit cast from "int" to "float"
    0(42) : warning C7011: implicit cast from "int" to "float"
    0(42) : warning C7011: implicit cast from "int" to "float"
    0(42) : warning C7011: implicit cast from "int" to "float"
    0(132) : warning C7011: implicit cast from "int" to "float"
    0(132) : warning C7011: implicit cast from "int" to "float"
    0(136) : warning C7011: implicit cast from "int" to "float"
    0(136) : warning C7011: implicit cast from "int" to "float"
    0(117) : warning C7011: implicit cast from "int" to "float"
    0(118) : warning C7011: implicit cast from "int" to "float"

    Newbie

    42 Posts

  • #5, by afrlmeSunday, 18. May 2014, 15:24 6 years ago
    Hmm... are you using mac or windows? If it's mac then it could be some random bug with the mac editor.

    As for the error it seems to be some issue with the openGL shader; according to google. Some kind of conversion issue between rounded & decimal numbers. One of the VS devs will be able to figure it out.

    Imperator

    6800 Posts

  • #6, by SimonSSunday, 18. May 2014, 15:33 6 years ago
    The conversion errors are irrelevant, there's a shader and every driver throws some warnings, nothing serious. As for the dialog problems, I need something to reproduce, are you using RC or beta ? Are you on a Mac or a PC ?

    Thread Captain

    1327 Posts

  • #7, by BarneySunday, 18. May 2014, 15:33 6 years ago
    I'm using RC in Windows.

    Newbie

    42 Posts

  • #8, by LutetSaturday, 24. May 2014, 17:56 6 years ago
    Looks like I have the same problem (Windows 7 64, Visionaire 4RC, build 1165). When I start dialog just after the game starts and choose any dialog option, the game crashes. However, when I wander around the scene first, click some objects and then starts the dialog, the mouse pointer dissapears and I can't choose anything.

    There aren't any errors in the log file, except "Abnormal program termination".

    I may have ommitted something, I'm a beginner at Visionaire.

    Thanks for help.

    Newbie

    10 Posts

  • #9, by georgmoensSaturday, 24. May 2014, 18:06 6 years ago
    I posted the same problem in german:" Hilfe!!!!...." Alex, a Member of the visionaire team can reproduce it. Look in my thread, there is his answer.

    Newbie

    87 Posts

  • #10, by LutetMonday, 26. May 2014, 13:40 6 years ago
    Is there any info when this might be fixed? It really slows down the development process.

    Newbie

    10 Posts

  • #11, by georgmoensMonday, 26. May 2014, 16:45 6 years ago
    Alex said: "...I have fixed the problem. But when we will make an update......" It seems, that an update is a lot of work. So, we have to wait.

    Newbie

    87 Posts

Write post