Screen resolution size - what do you recommend?

  • #1, by lefooshFriday, 07. June 2013, 15:49 7 years ago
    Hi All, I'm sorry if this isnt the place to add these comments but I am starting out on what I plan to be a commercial game and was wondering what resolution to work with? My Cintiq (an old one) doesn't do the 1920 x 1200 so when i save and run a lot of my game is off the screen.

    When I export its all on screen as the screen resizes as needs be. Are you all working in full res or something less or is there a way to make it resize smaller?

    Thanks,

    Kris

    Newbie

    77 Posts


  • #2, by littleledsFriday, 07. June 2013, 16:31 7 years ago
    I'm using 1920x1080, and is working fine even on not so fast computers. This engine is fantastic.


    If you use lower resolution, when the game is played on a big screen the image will became very poor.

    Newbie

    22 Posts

  • #3, by lefooshFriday, 07. June 2013, 16:43 7 years ago
    Hey Little Leds,

    Thanks, yeah Its running fine and when I do a build it resizes to the screen. The game is all vector art so can resize easy enough.

    Thanks for the reply

    Newbie

    77 Posts

  • #4, by afrlmeFriday, 07. June 2013, 17:04 7 years ago
    1920x1080 is the default hd resolution which I'm using myself for the game I'm working on but the laptop I'm currently using has a max resolution of 1280x800 but the engine scales the game down to my laptops resolution automatically. I have fullscreen mode on & widescreen support enabled inside of the editors options found via "extras > options > player"

    also whenever you compile (build) & export your game as an playable .exe, it usually builds a default config.ini file... inside of that if you set Resolution = auto then it will automatically scale the game to the users default resolution.

    @ littleleds: for people who make low resolution games: there are various options for improving the image quality on the main game options tab - but they can only do so much.

    Imperator

    6621 Posts

  • #5, by lefooshFriday, 07. June 2013, 17:35 7 years ago
    @AFRLme - that worked like a charm, thanks!

    Thats a great pointer on the config file, I'll make sure to check that once im ready to build.

    Will have to think of a more challenging question next time... wink

    Newbie

    77 Posts

  • #6, by afrlmeFriday, 07. June 2013, 17:54 7 years ago
    och aye - bring them on! wink

    Imperator

    6621 Posts

  • #7, by lefooshFriday, 07. June 2013, 18:08 7 years ago
    Don't you worry, I've got PLENTY! Will need a visual aid or two for the next question so will start a new thread for that.

    Newbie

    77 Posts

  • #8, by mariodonickWednesday, 06. November 2013, 14:00 6 years ago
    I want to add a question to this thread:

    If I developed a game in 1920x1080 resolution, and somebody wants to use it on 1024x768 screen: Will Visionaire automatically scale down the widescreen graphics with correctly preserving the aspect ratio?

    Or will it distort the widescreen image to fit on the 4:3 screen?

    Newbie

    9 Posts

  • #9, by SimonSWednesday, 06. November 2013, 14:02 6 years ago
    Yes, it will scale it down keeping aspect ratio, thereby creating black borders on the top and the bottom.

    Thread Captain

    1224 Posts

  • #10, by mariodonickWednesday, 06. November 2013, 14:08 6 years ago
    Yes, it will scale it down keeping aspect ratio, thereby creating black borders on the top and the bottom.


    Thanks, very good!

    Newbie

    9 Posts

Write post